Foto von uwe steinmetz und carsten daerr - duo inheritance

Carsten Daerr has been playing with the saxophone player Uwe Steinmetz since 1997. Interacting on stage they have since reached an intuitive understanding. The duo's name »Inheritance« pays tribute to their roots – the great potential of European culture and tradition, in which they grew up, connecting it with the freedom and playfulness of jazz and improvisation.

uwe steinmetz - saxophone

Uwe Steinmetz was born in Bremervörde, a town in Northern Germany in 1975 and studied saxophone and music theory in Germany, Switzerland, India and the USA. His teachers included Gebhard Ullmann (Berlin), Andy Scherrer (Basel), Frank Sikora (Bern), Jerry Bergonzi (Boston) Ben Schwendener and George Russell (Boston). He holds two degrees, one in Saxophone Performance, one in Jazz Composition and Music Theory from the »Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler«, Berlin and the »New England Conservatory of Music«, Boston.

He works as a free-lance composer, saxophonist and lecturer up to and beyond the borders of Europe, including: India, Ethiopia, Korea and the USA. He has so far released 8 CDs in Germany and the USA and toured with his own music on four continents in over 30 countries. He has won national and international awards for his artistic work, as well as full scholarships for all his studies. As a soloist he worked with Bob Mintzer, Joe Maneri, Carlos Bica, Mark Rossi, Ben Schwendener, Markus Stockhausen, Claudio Puntin, Steffen Schorn, Torsten Laux, Wolfgang Sieber and Peter Weniger, as a composer he wrote for Big-Bands, Choirs, Church Organ and String Quartet, e.g. with the British  Fitzwilliam String Quartet, who premiered four of his works.

Apart from his activity as concert-performer, composer and teacher Steinmetz is researching the fundamentals of music in various world cultures for a PHD thesis and supports inter-cultural dialogue through his own artistic projects. Since the beginning fo his studies he chose Berlin as his home and working place.

His interest in the spiritual dimension of improvised music from a christian perspective led him to coordinate a growing international network of jazz musicians who are christians and theologians.

Foto von uwe steinmetz und carsten daerr - duo inheritance

Mit dem Saxophonisten Uwe Steinmetz spielt Carsten Daerr seit 1997 zusammen. In dieser Zeit haben sie in ihrer Interaktion auf der Bühne ein intuitives Verständnis entwickelt. Der Name ihres Duos »Inheritance« (Erbe) würdigt ihre eigenen Wurzeln – das große Potenzial der europäischen Kultur und Tradition, in der sie aufwuchsen – und verbindet diese mit der Freiheit und Verspieltheit des Jazz und der Improvisation.

uwe steinmetz - saxophon

Uwe Steinmetz wurde 1975 in Bremervörde/NDS geboren und studierte Saxophon und Musiktheorie in Berlin, Bern, Indien und Boston. Zu seinen Lehrern zählten unter anderen Gebhard Ullmann (Berlin), Andy Scherrer (Basel), Jerry Bergonzi (Boston) und George Russell (Boston). Er beendete sein Studium mit zwei Abschlüssen, einen als Saxophonist und den zweiten in Jazz-Komposition und Musiktheorie an der Hochschule für Musik »Hanns Eisler«, Berlin und dem »New England Conservatory of Music«, Boston.
 
Er arbeitet freischaffend als Komponist, Saxophonist und Dozent über das Europäische Umland hinaus u.a. in Indien, Äthiopien, Korea und den USA und erhielt nationale und internationale Auszeichnungen für seine künstlerische Arbeit sowie Vollstipendien für sein komplettes Studium. Er veröffentlichte bisher 8 CDs unter eigenem Namen in Deutschland und den USA und tourte mit seiner eigenen Musik in über 30 Ländern und vier Kontinenten. Als Solist arbeitete er u.a. mit Bob Mintzer, Joe Maneri, Carlos Bica, Mark Rossi, Ben Schwendener, Markus Stockhausen, Claudio Puntin, Steffen Schorn, Torsten Laux, Wolfgang Sieber und Peter Weniger, als Komponist schrieb er für Big-Band, Chor, Kirchenorgel und Streichquartett, u.a. für das britischem Fitzwilliam String Quartet, das vier seiner Werke uraufführte.

Über seine Konzert- und Lehrtätigtätigkeit hinaus forscht Steinmetz im Rahmen einer Dissertation über die Grundlagen von Musik in verschiedenen Kulturen der Welt und engagiert sich durch künstlerische Projekte im Bereich des interkulturellen und interreligiösen Dialogs. Seit Beginn seines Studiums 1996 ist Berlin zu seiner Wahlheimat und künstlerischen Arbeitsbasis geworden.

Sein Interesse an der spirituellen Dimension von improvisierter Musik aus christlicher Perspektive führte dazu, den Aufbau eines wachsenden internationalen Netzwerkes für Jazzmusiker, die Christen sind, und Theologen zu koordinieren.