cover carsten daerr trio - PurpleCoolCarSleep

Carsten Daerr Trio
PurpleCoolCarSleep
20 OCT 2003

Traumton CD_4472
EAN/UPC 705304300923

 

tracks

 
  • 1. Dümpeln 7:14
  • 2. Shunyata 4:48
  • 3. Pygmi Up! 1:26
  • 4. Der Regenmann 4:24
  • 5. Stuffed Piano 1:33
  • 6. Nonen Est Omen 4:11
  • 7. Pap 2:13
  • 8. September 7:21
  • 9. Nardism 6:11
  • 10. Purplecoolcarsleep 1:24
  • 11. Ludens Ludentis 5:04
  • 12. For Kenny Kirkland († November 1998) 5:45
  • 13. Standard Imitation ( My Funny Valentine) 6:24
  • 14. Drum Afterlude 2:15

credits

Music 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13: Carsten Daerr
Music 7: Oliver Potratz
Music 2, 3, 6, 11, 14: Eric Schaefer
Music 10: Carsten Daerr, Eric Schaefer, Oliver Potratz
All tracks published by Traumton Musikverlag
Recorded and mixed by Hrolfur Vagnsson at Vagnsson Studios, Hamburg
Produced by Carsten Daerr

lineup

Carsten Daerr piano
Oliver Potratz bass
Eric Schaefer drums

info

Laconically, pianist Carsten Daerr gives credit for the title »PurpleCoolCarSleep«, the smallest miniature on his trio-album, to the magnets on his refrigerator door. Magnetic Poetry – PurpleCoolCarSleep, there could hardly be a more fitting name for this debut album.

Vivacity and passion, coolness on the edge of understatement, daredevil skill, speed and acceleration, and instinctive calm in detail. The only title composed jointly by Carsten Daerr, bassist Oliver Potratz and drummer Eric Schaefer becomes the whole program, not only poetically, but musically, Daerr spans the bridge from everyday associative sounds that »stick« in your ear to sophisticated compositions. The idea behind it is collective; the trio has existed since 1997 with a mission – to reflect the great common affinity they have to New Music and contemporary improvisation in the form of a jazz-piano trio.

Carsten Daerr grew up with classical music, but he soon felt its limits. Through Sting, he discovered Kenny Kirkland, a short time later Herbie Hancock and Pat Metheny. He was fascinated by the open structure of jazz and it opened the way for him to combine musical strains of the most different kinds. »A particular musical philosophy as the single basis to build everything upon would constrain me too much. Music is created by opening up to many different things. Schubert, Hindemith, Messiaen and Feldman are just as important to me as Sting, Radiohead, and Aphex Twins,« says Carsten Daerr today, and even goes beyond this variety, »More than other musicians, sounds from my surroundings are inspiring me right now though, most especially sounds and noises from Berlin. But the diverse sounds of nature as well. Every noise is music to me.«

This diversity determined his way as a studio musician and sideman in recent years. Even when he seemed to be going quietly, his appearances convinced with distinction, solid style and confidence. A man who has left his mark.
On PurpleCoolCarSleep, he not only appears as a pianist, but as a composer as well. His signature is very characteristic and subtle; it doesn’t only leave its mark on his compositions, but on those of his fellow musicians as well. Contrary to the spirit of post-modernism which uses, plunders and collages, Carsten Daerr processes traditions and structures into his own new musical language, making the album amazingly homogenous in spite of small stylistic strayings. His piano playing is equally relaxed and succinct. His improvisations develop fire under his control. Classical elegance and severity melt with playful caprioles and dynamic breakouts into a vivaciously powerful awareness of the moment. Purple Cool Car Sleep – Magnetic Poetry.

© Traumton Records

press

»Young, uncloned pianists are a rarity. Carsten Daerr isn’t suffering from jazz-academics. The Berlin musician concentrates much more on developing creative uniqueness and cultivating interplay with bassist Oliver Potratz and Eric Schaefer on the drums. This makes ›PurpleCoolCarSleep‹ a joyfully independent piano-trio album, at times reminding of Brad Mehldau with a pinch of Jason Moran, but otherwise consequently modern.  Anybody who breaks into the scene with such command definitely has a future.«
Stereoplay Klangtipp | Ralf Dombrowski | Dezember 2003

»What this pianist has managed to do with his trio is more than just a valuable enrichment. Once again it’s about the liaison between European classical and jazz. Daerr is adept in New Music’s composition techniques, but he doesn’t just combine this with the Bill-Evans School jazz concept – his model is Kenny Kirkland,and that means he loves Postbop-Powerplay, crushing chords from the left hand, and plenty of racket from the drums.
And Daerr’s harmonic extravagance is exactly what makes the effect extremely invigorating. We’re waiting for more.«
Jazzthing | Johannes Völz | November 2003

»Carsten Daerr’s compositions are often unconventional – clearly structured arrangements change off abruptly with unbridled improvisations - and this has style, keeping track of this trio is sheer joy. Far removed from any trends, these three strictly adhere to the tradition of pure instrumental-jazz and don’t only sound contemporary doing it, but refreshingly modern and absolutely up-to-date. So was this album overdue? And how: Bravo!«
jazzdimensions.de | Peggy Thiele | November 2003

»Carsten Daerr has recorded a trio album with his partners Oliver Potratz and Eric Schaefer that unlike most German productions, has enormous power. Although classics like ›Nardis‹ and ›My Funny Valentine‹ are quoted or interpreted, although the starting-point is really conservative, there are clear forms, no rapping guests or other gimmicks – there is no redundancy, no painting by numbers.
  The brief lyrics elucidate the songs just as concisely and warmly as the trio emphatically gets to the point with its own musical ideas. I look for venerable old names to describe this rookie’s piano playing and come up with Jackie Terrasson, Jason Moran and Esbjörn Svensson. They have a lot on Daerr in life experience and technical brilliance, but what I mean is the effect of making people sit up and listen with very little means, and reminding them that this here is now.«
••••
Jazzthetik | Eric Mandel | Dezember 2003

»Berliner originality instead of US-defined tradition consciousness. No piano trio has entered the German scene with so much originality since Jens Thomas. Carsten Daerr combines free stuff with pronouncedly lyrical playing and manages, like Eric Schaefer on the drums, to make even adventurous changes sound round and casually original.
••••
Rolling Stone | Klaus von Seckendorff | Februar 2004

»…an excellent warm-up from Berliner pianist Carsten Daerr, … on this CD you find an improbable creative freshness, far removed from any other piano trio conventions. He says his inspirations are Schubert, Hindemith, Kenny Kirkland and street noises of downtown Berlin. And just as contradictory and at the same time logical is the final acoustic result., which captivates through enormous harmonic and pianistic imaginativeness and establishes a new connection between European ›art‹ music and jazz. All the facets of a piano’s sound are put into play on his album ›PurpleCoolCarSleep‹ - occidental playing tradition, string plucking and prepared piano. Kagel and Cage would love it.«
keyboards | Christoph Spendel | 8/2004

cover carsten daerr trio - PurpleCoolCarSleep

Carsten Daerr Trio
PurpleCoolCarSleep
20 OCT 2003

Traumton CD_4472
EAN/UPC 705304300923

 

tracks

 
  • 1. Dümpeln 7:14
  • 2. Shunyata 4:48
  • 3. Pygmi Up! 1:26
  • 4. Der Regenmann 4:24
  • 5. Stuffed Piano 1:33
  • 6. Nonen Est Omen 4:11
  • 7. Pap 2:13
  • 8. September 7:21
  • 9. Nardism 6:11
  • 10. Purplecoolcarsleep 1:24
  • 11. Ludens Ludentis 5:04
  • 12. For Kenny Kirkland († November 1998) 5:45
  • 13. Standard Imitation ( My Funny Valentine) 6:24
  • 14. Drum Afterlude 2:15

credits

Musik 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 12, 13: Carsten Daerr
Musik 7: Oliver Potratz
Musik 2, 3, 6, 11, 14: Eric Schaefer
Musik 10: Carsten Daerr, Eric Schaefer, Oliver Potratz
All tracks published by Traumton Musikverlag
Recorded and mixed by Hrolfur Vagnsson at Vagnsson Studios, Hamburg


Produced by Carsten Daerr

lineup

Carsten Daerr piano
Oliver Potratz bass
Eric Schaefer drums

info

Lakonisch überlässt Pianist Carsten Daerr den Credit für den Titel PurpleCoolCarSleep, der kleinsten Miniatur auf seinem Trioalbum den Magneten an seiner Kühlschranktüre. Magnetic Poetry - PurpleCoolCarSleep, - treffender lässt sich kaum beschreiben, was dieses Debutalbum ausmacht. Temperament und Leidenschaft, Coolness die an Understatement grenzt, Rasanz, Tempo und Beschleunigung und traumwandlerische Ruhe im Detail. Der Titel der einzigen gemeinsamen Komposition von Carsten Daerr, Bassist Oliver Potratz und Schlagzeuger Eric Schaefer wird zum Programm, nicht nur poetisch, auch musikalisch spannt er den Bogen von alltäglich assoziativer Geräuschhaftigkeit zur ausgefeilten Komposition. Der Grundgedanke ist kollektiv, seit 1997 besteht das Trio mit dem Anliegen, die gemeinsame große Affinität zur Neuen Musik und zeitgenössische Improvisation in der Form eines Jazz-Piano Trios zu reflektieren.

Carsten Daerr wächst mit klassischer Musik auf, doch die Grenzen der Klassik werden ihm schon früh zu eng. Über Sting entdeckt er Kenny Kirkland, wenig später Herbie Hancock und Pat Metheny. Die Strukturoffenheit des Jazz fasziniert ihn und eröffnet ihm den Weg, unterschiedlichste musikalische Stränge zu verbinden. »Eine bestimmte musikalische Philosophie als alleinige Basis, auf die alles aufbaut, würde mich zu sehr einengen. Musik entsteht dadurch, sich auf Vieles einzulassen. Mir sind Schubert, Hindemith, Messiaen und Feldman ebenso wichtig wie Sting, Radiohead und Aphex Twins« sagt Carsten Daerr heute und geht selbst über diese Vielfalt noch hinaus, »Mehr als andere Musiker inspirieren mich derzeit allerdings Umweltgeräusche. Vor allem natürlich die Geräusche und der Lärm Berlins. Aber auch die vielfältigen Geräusche der Natur. Jedes Geräusch ist für mich Musik…«

Diese Vielseitigkeit bestimmte seinen Weg als Studiomusiker und Sideman in den letzten Jahren. Auch wenn er den eher leise zu gehen schien, überzeugt er dort, wo er in Erscheinung tritt mit Prägnanz, Stilsicherheit und Selbstbewußtsein. Einer, der Spuren hinterlässt.

Auf PurpleCoolCarSleep, tritt er nicht nur als Pianist sondern auch als Komponist in Erscheinung. Seine Handschrift ist extrem eigen und subtil, sie prägt nicht nur seine Kompositionen sondern auch die seiner Bandkollegen. Entgegen postmodernem Zeitgeist, der sich bedient, plündert und collagiert, verarbeitet Carsten Daerr Traditionen und Strukturen zu einer eigenen, neuen musikalischen Sprache. So wirkt das Album trotz kleiner stilistischer Ausreisser erstaunlich homogen. Sein Klavierspiel ist gleichermaßen gelassen und prägnant. Seine Improvisationen entwickeln Feuer im Gezügeltsein. Klassische Eleganz und Strenge verschmelzen mit verspielten Kapriolen und dynamischen Ausbrüchen zu einem lebendig kraftvollen Momentbewusstsein. Purple Cool Car Sleep - Magnetic Poetry.

© Traumton Records

presse

»Junge, ungeklonte Pianisten sind eine Rarität. Carsten Daerr leidet nicht an Jazz-Akademik. Der Berliner konzentriert sich vielmehr darauf, kreative Eigenheiten zu entwickeln und das Zusammenspiel mit dem Bassisten Oliver Potratz und Eric Schaefer am Schlagzeug zu kultivieren. So ist ›PurpleCoolCarSleep‹ ein erfreulich unabhängiges Klaviertrio-Album geworden, stellenweise an Brad Mehldau erinnernd mit einer Prise Jason Moran, ansonsten konsequent modern. Wer so souverän in die Szene einsteigt, hat Zukunft.«

Stereoplay Klangtipp | Ralf Dombrowski | Dezember 2003

»Was dieser Pianist mit seinem Trio auf seinem Debut zustande bringt, ist mehr als eine erfreuliche Bereicherung...Es geht wieder einemal um die Verbindung aus europäischer Klassik und Jazz. Daerr ist geübt in den Kompositionstechniken der Neuen Musik, doch er verbindet das nicht etwa mit dem Jazzkonzept der Bill-Evans-Schule. Sein Vorbild heißt Kenny Kirkland, und das bedeutet: er liebt Postbop-Powerplay mit krachenden Akkorden in der Linken und ordentlich Getöse vom Schlagzeug. Das wirkt gerade wegen Daerrs harmonischer Extravaganz äußerst belebend. Wir warten auf mehr.«

Jazzthing | Johannes Völz | November 2003

»Und noch eine spannende CD aus Berlin: Sechs Jahre haben sich Carsten Daerr, Oliver Potratz und Eric Schaefer für den Gang ins Studio Zeit gelassen - nun legen sie ein Debüt von erstaunlicher Reife und Vertrautheit vor. Das Carsten Daerr Trio reizt den Rahmen des klassischen Klaviertrios aus, ohne ihn zu sprengen: In ausgefeilten Eigenkompositionen machen sich die drei jungen Musiker, die ihre Liebe zur ›ernsten‹ Neuen Musik nicht verhehlen, an die Erforschung ungewöhnlicher Klänge und Harmonien. Zwischendurch geben sie durchaus Gas, doch PurpleCoolCarSleep ist überwiegend ruhig gehalten - bis hin zu wunderbar traumverlorenen Stücken.«

Halb Elf | November 2003

»Carsten Daerrs Kompositionen sind oft eigenwillig - klar strukturierte Arrangements wechseln sich schlagartig mit ungezügelten Improvisationen ab - und das hat Stil, man folgt dem Trio gerne. Fern jeden Trends halten die drei an der Tradition des reinen Instrumental-Jazz fest und klingen dabei nicht nur zeitgenössisch, sondern erfrischend modern und absolut zeitgemäß. War das Album also überfällig? Und ob es das war: Bravo!«

jazzdimensions.de | Peggy Thiele | November 2003

»Carsten Daerr hat mit seinen Partnern Oliver Potratz und Eric Schaefer eine Trioplatte aufgenommen, die gegenüber dem meisten deutschen Produktionen eine ungeheure Stärke hat: Obwohl Klassiker wie ›Nardis‹ und ›My Funny Valentine‹ zitiert oder interpretiert werden, obwohl der Ansatz geradezu konservativ ist - es gibt klare Formen, keine rappenden Gäste oder andere Gimmicks - gibt es keine Redundanz, kein Malen nach Zahlen. So knapp und sympathisch die kurzen Texte die Stücke erläutern, so pointiert bringt das Trio die eigenen musikalischen Ideen auf den Punkt. Ich suche alte, ehrwüdige Namen, um das Pianospiel des Rookies zu beschreiben, und lande dann bei Jackie Terrasson, Jason Moran und Esbjörn Svensson. Die haben Daerr noch einiges an Lebenserfahrung und technischer Brillanz voraus, aber was ich meine, ist der Effekt, mit wenigen Mitteln aufhorchen zu lassen und einem immer wieder in Erinnerung zu rufen, dass dies hier die Gegenwart ist.«
••••
Jazzthetik | Eric Mandel | Dezember 2003

»Berliner Eigensinn statt US-fixierten Traditionsbewusstsein: Seit Jens Thomas hat kein Klaviertrio so originell die deutsche Szene geentert. Carsten Daerr verbindet freies mit betont lyrischem Spiel und schafft es wie Eric Schaefer an den Drums, dass selbst abenteuerliche Wendungen rund klingen, zwanglos originell.«
••••
Rolling Stone | Klaus von Seckendorff | Februar 2004

»Außerdem ›Made in Germany‹ ist eine hervorragende Einspielung des Berliner Pianisten Carsten Daerr. Ähnlich wie bei Michael Kaeshammer findet man auf dieser CD eine unwahrscheinliche, fern von sonstigen Piano-Trio-Konventionen kreative Frische. Seine Inspirationen sind laut eigener Aussage Schubert, Hindemith, Kenny Kirkland und Straßengeräusche der Berliner Innenstadt. Und so widersprüchlich und logisch zugleich ist auch das akustische Endresultat, das durch enormen harmonischen und pianistischen Einfallsreichtum besticht und eine neue Verbindung von Europäischer Kunstmusik zum Jazz herstellt. Alle Klangfassetten des Pianos kommen auf seinem Album ›PurpleCoolCarSleep‹ zum Zuge: abendländische Anschlagtradition, Seitenzupfen und präpariertes Piano. Kagel und Cage hätten ihre Freude.«

keyboards | Christoph Spendel | 8/2004